Exercise in Perspective

Remember that kid from your elementary school who peed his pants during show and tell? Or how about your cousins’ standoffish neighbor with the intense veggie garden whose backyard you would always accidently kick the soccer ball over the fence into? They probably haven’t crossed your mind in years (unless you were that unfortunate kid with the Chia Pet), but I want you to think about this person for a moment. Envision their physical attributes, try to hear their voice; give this person way more mental energy than seems necessary. Whoever this embodiment of “that random person from my childhood” for you may be, try to give some serious thought to this question: what are they doing right now?

By now I don’t mean what career path have they chosen or how many kids they have, but I mean: what are they doing at this very second? Right now. They could be uttering the word “lollypop”, performing 3 Card Monte in the slums of Mumbai, or even cracking open a beer, but the fact is that this person who you have not acknowledged (and have had no need to acknowledge) is existing somewhere and doing something at this very moment.

I do this exercise with myself a lot and it never ceases to boggle my mind. Think about Camera Man 3 from mothereffing Hollywood Squares; what the hell is he doing right this instant and why am I thinking about him? There are heaps of implications that percolate through my brain when I take this kind of perspective, one of the main ones being just how self aware we are as humans. I can take a step back and acknowledge that I have everyday motivations, fears, and goals that propel me to action in a complex way that I so deeply understand and contemplate but that good ol’ Dr. Kazley, my childhood orthodontist, hasn’t given a neuron of thought to in the last decade. This is far from a depressing moral; there is absolutely no way of keeping tabs on everyone you have met, let alone the billions (soon to be kajillions) of people on this planet you’ve never encountered, but it is essential to maintain an objective awareness of how you fit inside this puzzle of a universe. It’s hard for me to take my inhibitions so seriously when I know that proportionally to the infinite universe, NO ONE IS WATCHING. This exercise in mindfulness and being aware of the triviality of life inspires me to take risks, and plus, who doesn’t find it fun to imagine what the voice of Apu in the Simpsons finds himself doing in his spare time?

One thought on “Exercise in Perspective

  1. “It’s hard for me to take my inhibitions so seriously when I know that proportionally to the infinite universe, NO ONE IS WATCHING.”
    yikes.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.